Our curriculum is carefully planned to ensure our pupils experience a broad range of subjects, developing a true love of learning and having the opportunity to find their true passions.

From the starting point in Year 7, they will typically go on to focus on nine or ten subjects at GCSE and three at A Level.

The Curriculum

Year 7-9 (Age 11-14)

The curriculum is challenging; its unusual breadth and depth aims to help pupils develop a vision for life which is responsive to the world in which they live. We place great importance on the quality of material offered across the curriculum.

Curriculum in Year 7

Art, Ancient Civilisations, Cookery, Drama, English, French, General Science, Geography, History, History of Art, Computer Science, Latin, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, PSHEE, Religious Studies, Sanskrit, Textiles and Sport.

Curriculum in Year 8 & 9

As above except science is taught as three separate subjects (Physics, Chemistry and Biology), Spanish (for pupils not studying Sanskrit) and Classical Greek (by selection).

Year 10-11 (GCSE)

Pupils typically have a free choice of 9 or 10 GCSEs which can include classical as well as modern languages and dual award or 3 separate sciences. A good balance of arts and science subjects is encouraged.

GCSE subjects typically offered

Art, Biology, Chemistry, Classical Greek, Computer Science/Applied IT, Drama, English Language, English Literature, Food Nutrition & Preparation, French, Geography, History, Latin, Mathematics, Music, Physical Education, Physics, Religious Studies, Sanskrit and Spanish.

Non-examination subjects: Careers Guidance, Citizenship, Philosophy, PSHEE and Sport.

Year 12-13 (A Level) – Discover our A Level curriculum

Where next?